The final look of the new display

Here is how I’d like to see the display and I have laid it out on screen to get a real feel for it. I did this to avoid wasting time on the day of setting up so I and our group could just quickly put it up and leave without any further experimentation.

Screen Shot 2018-02-11 at 13.44.15

Laying it out this way builds a great balance with the content of our display by really contrasting the two colour ways. Having the good side of the discussion first was key because we had to show somewhat of a solution to the issue. We didn’t want people to get flung into the dark end of the issue straight away. However the dark poster really does stand out and draws attention to the display.

After presenting our work to the other groups we were informed that we should go first and we got some amazing feedback from them, I was very surprised and super happy with this as I did have a few doubts. Comments did arise though as to why the lighter coffee cup is a closer than the darker one, We countered the argument by saying it is to say that the local coffee shops are better and stronger and help out more than the actual pathetic big brands. Another argument came up saying why is the colour palette different in each poster, countered again with it confuses the audience as to which poster is good and which is bad. Doing so reinforces the background colours and photo content. One last comment got brought up being that why the gradient at the bottom of the light poster? I answered we’re not too sure but now I feel that it creates a heavenly feel to the poster, again reinforcing the other good elements within the poster.

IMG_2049

Here is the final, physical look of our display and we all felt it worked very well and there were no changes to be made from how I laid it out on screen. I just had an idea just now that would have been handy if we had more time and that was to have the posters smell like coffee beans or even have some coffee beans glued to the posters to cover up the gradients? Just spitballing there but I thought it would be a cool easter egg kind of thing!

Next I will be doing my evaluation of this project and discuss how I worked within a group and managed all the tasks I had to do within the project.

Leave a comment