Evaluation, thoughts and reflection on both APP projects

After finishing both my projects over a few months, alongside my dissertation I feel that I have achieved a lot. I think that I had matched the brief correctly and considered my time wisely along with other things that are going on. I was fast to think of a concept to work on and was quick to take actions to them. I took into consideration that the final pieces needs to be something to show someone that a lot of time and effort has gone in to them. If I were to have done something such as an app design, I would have never of got the appreciation than I would have if I were to have made a booklet or something that they can physically hold.

I made sure that I didn’t sit on the projects for too long and just kept moving to bring up fresh ideas for them. I took breaks when needed to clear my mind and asked for lots of feedback from people around me, this was consistent throughout the last few months with regular meetings with my lecture to be sure I was keeping on top of the outcomes to the brief.

At first I was going to do the larger dissertation so then I had to only do one APP though this idea changed more towards the last few weeks because, I didn’t want to base my final grade on a written piece seeing as my strong point in this course as you could probably tell is not my writing! I made sure that this was ok to do with my lectures and they gave me the go ahead, I got cracking onto the other project straight away and it helped that I had created a backup brief just incase this happened!

The design in my XXXL SHOOTINGS was created in a way to not come across as sinister but yet it had to be so powerful to show the sinister problem but in an approachable way. I feel I achieved this by keeping the design consistent with the brand identity, like the colours and shapes. Throughout the design I kept in mind the target audience and kept showing parts of it to friends, family and lecturers to gain outside opinions from both professional and normal people.

The design in my White Hart menu was created in a fun way to show that they are doing something good for the given charity. The design was to gain awareness to the piece making it stand out from the others. At the top of the menu I wanted it to look different so then it made people curious as to why it was different to the other menus. Again like the other project I kept getting feedback from all sorts of people to constantly get an outside view from it and I worked off the feedback in an appropriate manner taking in every last bit of it.

When it came to printing for the XXXL SHOOTING booklet it felt like it was going to be a massive ball ache though luckily I knew a graphic designer who I have worked with in the past and he said he’d sort me 50 copies for free in the highest quality. Usually this would cost about £300 minimum! This backs up the saying that it’s not all about what you know, it’s about who you know. I was extremely lucky to have this contact and was so grateful.

The print was done on an extremely high end printer which made sure that there were no jolts or miscuts and it was mostly done manually. If I had gone to a print shop near home that was cheaper, they would have just ran it through a printer that would sometimes move the pages just ever so slightly, that would lead to misprints and even crooked alignments on elements on some of the pages. This is all hard to explain as I don’t know much about print but this is what my guy told me.

The print on my pub menu was done simply at a local print shop seeing as it was only just an A4 piece of card to then be folded. I was very impressed from their printing standards down at minuteman press and their timing was on point, only a 10 minute wait! I will be using them for projects like this.

Overall my time keeping skills were good keeping almost like a diary on what I was going to do each week considering my dissertation on the side too. After getting my final response from people with the printed versions, I am very proud to call this work mine and feel that I have certainly progressed throughout the last few years! I will carry on proceeding through my last few projects just like I have with these two to gain great success and will jump on to the projects straight away.

 

Leave a comment